Author Topic: Generating Heat  (Read 7247 times)

David Williams

• Administrator
  • Aloha
    • View Profile
Generating Heat
« on: April 06, 2007, 09:23:41 PM »
Hi David,
My name is Robert. I've been practicing ashtanga since 2005.
I have great difficulty with generating heat during my practice.
My it does appear my practice is effortless. Unfortunately, very
often instead of being more and more hot during my practice
my body gradually becomes colder than before starting sun
salutations. What do you think I should do? Is it a temporary
state or is there something wrong with the climate I live in,
or food... ? Thank you very much for help!
Best wishes,
Robert

Dear Robert,
You didn't say where you live...
Do you practice in a warm room or in the cold?
Aloha,
David

I live in Poland. It's usually 23-24 degrees in my room...

Dear Robert,
It seems like your room is warm enough.  Are you doing the deepest possible breathing with constant mulabandha?
Aloha,
David

Well... I might have difficulty with mulabandha...
I actually have a lot of doubts about the breath and mulabandha...
Should I constantly think about mulabandha during my practice or is it
enough to 'let it manifest on its own' and don't think about it at all? In other
words, should I keep it intentioanally using my muscles and always come
back to it with my thoughts or just let it happen? As for breath, does it
have to be very loud or is it more important to keep it long and consistant?
In Yoga Mala Guruji says that when in poses one should breathe 'as much as
possible'... I'm not sure how to understand it... Could you possibly describe
the most important characteristics of breathing in ashtanga?
Thank you very much for help!
Robert

Dear Robert,
You must consciously be engaging mulabandha while breathing as deeply as possible with whatever sound you naturally make.