Author Topic: How hard to try to do the asanas?  (Read 8704 times)

grzes

• View Profile
How hard to try to do the asanas?
« on: August 18, 2004, 11:03:15 AM »
Dear David,

I would like to take the possibility of asking someone so experienced.

I have been practicing ashtanga for nearly 2 years now, most of the time around 5 times a week, first series up to bujapidasana, maybe a few postures more from the rest of the series. My postures are not perfect and certinaly I cannot do he half-lotus postures due to some old knee problems.

Most of the time I feel quite sore the next morning. During the day I usually fell great but the next morning it is often very hard to start again. On the other hand when I have some days of a break the practice seems to be easier and I am more flexible.

So my question is whether I am pushing to hard trying to get into the postures or whether this soreness is inevitable and if one practices a long enough time it will pass?

Thanks in advance
   Grzes
« Last Edit: August 18, 2004, 11:07:10 AM by grzes »

David Williams

• Administrator
  • Aloha
    • View Profile
Re: How hard to try to do the asanas?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2004, 11:00:19 PM »
Dear Grzes,
If you are feeling "quite sore" in the morning, then you probably are "pushing it too hard".
Personally, I think daily practice for the rest of one's life is more beneficial than sporatic practice interrupted by pain that makes practice impossible or undesirable.